During a delayed penalty for a stick infraction, another player pushes his opponent against the boards. What should happen?
Correct Answer: The play continues if the offended team maintains possession. When play stops, 2 penalties are assessed: one for the original stick foul and one for the push. The offending team is now 2 players short.
The rulebook states
(604.1) : Only one penalty at a time can be delayed except when a goal situation is in progress, in which case a second penalty may also be delayed.
(604.2) : If the delayed penalty is carried out because of any other interruption, play shall be resumed according to what caused the interruption.
Shouldn’t the correct answer be :
The game stops, both players are booked, and game starts with a free-hit ?
Good point Saimmons. For play to continue, it would have to be clear that a goal scoring opportunity was in progress. Since it isn’t made clear in the wording of the question, I have changed the answer to what you suggest.
Thanks for the feedback!
btw: I’ve edited the title of your post so that it is searchable in the future.